About the Michigan Campaign Finance Network

The Michigan Campaign Finance Network (MCFN) is a nonpartisan 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that seeks to shine the brightest light possible on the role of money in Michigan politics.

MCFN started in 1996 as a project of the nonprofit Michigan Prospect. In 2000, the MCFN became an independent nonprofit corporation. From the beginning, the organization has focused on public education regarding the impact of money on politics in Michigan. MCFN's work to assist the public in understanding the role that contributions to politicians play is critical to the healthy operation of a democratic system of governance. The primary tools of this effort are transparent, timely and fact-based research and analysis made available to the general public, voters, policy makers and those people and organizations who are attempting to shape public policy.

MCFN's board of directors, staff and supporters are motivated by the belief that intelligent citizen participation in democracy requires access to trustworthy and credible knowledge about how ever-increasing campaign dollars are being raised and spent.  Positive democratic reforms require that political spending be widely understood and not hidden from public view.



Craig Mauger, Executive Director

Craig Mauger joined MCFN as executive director in January 2016. Before that, he worked as a reporter covering government and politics for a decade. He worked for newspapers in Indiana and spent three and a half years covering the State Capitol in Lansing for Michigan Information & Research Service (MIRS News). During his time at MIRS News, much of his coverage focused on following the money in state politics, including tracking the changing role of politically focused nonprofits and the connection between donations and legislative outcomes. Craig is a graduate of Ohio University's E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. He, his wife and two sons live in Lansing. (Photo at left by Simon Schuster)



Board Of Directors

  • John Chamberlin - Professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan
  • Patricia Donath - Past President, League of Women Voters of Michigan
  • Lynn Jondahl - Former Michigan state representative
  • John M. Koval - Retired state economist; senior activist
  • John P. Mayer - Former state and federal court administrator
  • Alma Wheeler Smith - Former Michigan state senator and state representative
  • John J. H. Schwarz - Physician, former Michigan state senator and congressman
  • Rich Robinson - MCFN's former executive director
  • Ellen Cogen Lipton - Former Michigan state representative
  • Chris Ward - Former Michigan state representative

Our Supporters

The work of the Michigan Campaign Finance Network is supported by:

  • * NOTE: MCFN has hundreds of supporters across the state and elsewhere. Many of them care deeply about transparency. Below, we have listed the generous supporters whose donations to MCFN have combined to exceed $200 since the start of 2012.
  • Bill Alexander
  • Loretta Ames
  • James Blanchard
  • Bill Bobier
  • Theresa Brennan
  • Margaret Ann Carter
  • John Chamberlin
  • Concerned Citizens of Acme Twp.
  • Marcia and Ted Curran
  • Jan Dolan
  • Pat Donath
  • Douglas Drake
  • Patrick Egan
  • Kay Felt
  • Joyce Fitch
  • Robert Garvey
  • Dana and Sharon Gire
  • R.J. Godin
  • Richard Hesse
  • Alan Jacobson
  • Jeffrey Jenks
  • Betsy and Jay Johnson
  • Lynn Jondahl
  • Joyce Foundation
  • Marilyn Kelly
  • John Koval
  • Ann and Richard Kraft
  • Sybil Levenson
  • John Logie
  • Anne Magoun
  • Peter Magoun
  • Mariel Foundation
  • John Mayer
  • Olivia Maynard
  • Model Cities Health Center
  • Barbara Moorhouse
  • Mott Foundation
  • Fred Munson
  • Newman Family Foundation
  • Frances Parker
  • Edward Parks
  • Lana Pollack
  • Jessica Reiser
  • Margaret Rockwell
  • Paul Rosen
  • James Ryan
  • Donald and Julia Schmidt
  • Scott Schrager
  • John J.H. Schwarz
  • Alma Wheeler Smith
  • Kathleen Straus
  • W.K. Kellogg Foundation
  • Max and Mary Wendell
  • Lorence Wenke
  • Nancy Wheeler
  • Want to join this list of supporters? Click here to donate.