About the Michigan Campaign Finance Network

The Michigan Campaign Finance Network (MCFN) is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that seeks to shine the brightest light possible on the role of money in Michigan politics.

MCFN started in 1996 as a project of the nonprofit Michigan Prospect. In 2000, the MCFN became an independent nonprofit corporation. From the beginning, the organization has focused on public education regarding the impact of money on politics in Michigan. MCFN's work to assist the public in understanding the role that contributions to politicians play is critical to the healthy operation of a democratic system of governance. The primary tools of this effort are transparent, timely and fact-based research and analysis made available to the general public, voters, policy makers and those people and organizations who are attempting to shape public policy.

MCFN's board of directors, staff and supporters are motivated by the belief that intelligent citizen participation in democracy requires access to trustworthy and credible knowledge about how ever-increasing campaign dollars are being raised and spent. Positive democratic reforms require that political spending be widely understood and not hidden from public view.

If you would like to make a contribution to support MCFN's efforts, you can do so by following this link.


Board Of Directors

  • Lynn Jondahl, board chair: former Michigan state representative, serving from 1973 to 1994
  • Patricia Donath, board vice chair: past president of the League of Women Voters of Michigan
  • Charlie Cavell: founder of the nonprofit The Pay It Forward Initiative who's worked in workforce development and to alleviate the causes of poverty
  • John Chamberlin: professor emeritus of public policy at the University of Michigan's Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
  • Dan DeGrow: former superintendent of St. Clair County RESA; former Michigan state senator, serving from 1983 to 2002; and former Michigan state representative, serving from 1981 to 1982
  • Gary Heinlein: a longtime journalist who covered Michigan state government and politics for The Detroit News for two decades
  • John M. Koval: retired state economist and senior activist
  • Ellen Cogen Lipton: an attorney and a former Michigan state representative, serving from 2009 to 2014
  • John P. Mayer: former state and federal court administrator
  • John J. H. Schwarz: physician; former Michigan state senator, serving from 1987 to 2002; and former congressman, serving from 2005 to 2007
  • Alma Wheeler Smith: former Michigan state senator, serving from 1995 to 2002; and former Michigan state representative, serving from 2005 to 2010
  • Chris Ward: former Michigan state representative, serving from 2003 to 2008


Executive Director

Craig Mauger

Craig Mauger joined the Michigan Campaign Finance Network as executive director in January 2016.

Before that, he worked as a reporter covering government and politics for a decade. He worked for newspapers in Indiana and spent three and a half years covering the state government and politics in Lansing for Michigan Information & Research Service (MIRS News), an online news service. During his time at MIRS News, much of his coverage focused on covering the state Legislature and also following the money in state politics, including tracking the changing role of politically focused nonprofits and the connection between donations and legislative outcomes.

Craig is a graduate of Ohio University's E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. He, his wife and two sons live in Holt, Michigan. (Photo at left by Simon Schuster)




Our Supporters

The work of the Michigan Campaign Finance Network has been financially supported by:

NOTE: MCFN has hundreds of supporters across the state and elsewhere. Many of them care deeply about transparency. Below, we have listed the generous supporters whose donations to MCFN have amounted to $200 or more in a year over the last five years.

— Bill Alexander
— Loretta Ames
— James Blanchard
— Bill Bobier
— Theresa Brennan
— J. Timothy Caldwell
— Margaret Ann Carter
— John Chamberlin
— Concerned Citizens of Acme Twp.
— Marcia and Ted Curran
— Jeanine DeLay
— Dan DeGrow
— Jan Dolan
— Pat Donath
— Stu Dowty and Janet Goldwasser
— Douglas Drake
— Patrick Egan
— Fred Feccheimer Trust
— Kay Felt
— Joyce Fitch
— Constance and William Frey
— Ann Erickson Gault
— Robert Garvey
— Dana and Sharon Gire
— R.J. Godin
— George Googasian
— David Gubow
— Richard Hesse
— Elizabeth Homer
— Alan Jacobson
— Jeffrey Jenks
— Betsy and Jay Johnson
— Jane L. Johnson
— Lynn Jondahl
— Joyce Foundation
— Marilyn Kelly
— John and Barbara Koval
— Ann and Richard Kraft
— Ellen Leik
— Sybil Levenson
— Ellen Cogen Lipton
— John Logie
— Anne Magoun
— Peter Magoun
— Mariel Foundation
— David Maturen
— John Mayer
— Olivia Maynard
— Model Cities Health Center
— Barbara Moorhouse
— Fred Munson
— Eva Packard
— Frances Parker
— Edward Parks
— John Piskulich
— Lana Pollack
— Jessica Reiser
— Richard Robinson and Shirley Ronquist
— Margaret Rockwell
— Paul and Faygabeth Rosen
— Robert Rudd
— James Ryan
— Donald and Julia Schmidt
— Scott Schrager
— John J.H. Schwarz
— Alma Wheeler Smith
— Tara Smith
— Robert and Mary Kill Spencer
— Kathleen Straus
— W.K. Kellogg Foundation
— Barry Waldman
— Max and Mary Wendell
— Lorence Wenke
— Nancy Wheeler